2009 Class 1 World Offshore Championship

Final results declared following tragic loss of closest contenders

The World Professional Powerboat Association (WPPA) has issued the final points and classifications for the 2009 UIM-WPPA Class 1 World Offshore Powerboat Championship.

Fazza’s Arif Al Zafeen and Nadir bin Hendi end the year as Class 1 World, Middle East and Edox Pole Position Champions.  Victory 1’s Mohammad Al Mehairi and Jean-Marc Sanchez, the 2009 Class 1 European Champions, who tragically lost their lives in what was the last race of the season, were runners-up with Kolbjorn Selmer and Jorn Tandberg in Welmax taking third place.

Foresti & Suardi – Roscioli Hotels’ Giampaolo Montavoci recorded his best-ever Championship result in fourth place, ahead of Maritimo 1I, Sea Dubai-C.A.M sixth, with Victory 7 and Giorgioffshore in seventh and eighth.


Final Results

1. Fazza – A Al Zafeen (UAE)/N Bin Hendi (UAE) – 155pts

2. Victory – M Al Mehairi (UAE)/JM Sanchez (FRA) – 134pts

3. Welmax – K Selmer (NOR)/J Tandberg (NOR) – 92pts

4. Foresti&Suardi-Roscioli Hotels – R Lo Piano (ITA)/G Montavoci (ITA) – 64pts

5. Maritimo – T Barry-Cotter (AUS)/PV Nilsen (NOR) – 58pts

6. Sea Dubai – C.A.M. – A Al Hameli (UAE)/G Carpitella (ITA) – 57pts

7. Victory – A Al Mehairbi (UAE)/M Al Marri (UAE) – 54pts

8. Giorgioffshore – C


Latest videos