Abu Dhabi enters Class 1

New team headed up by veteran Formula 1 circuit driver

The Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club (ADIMSC) has confirmed they will be entering a team in the opening round of the 2010 World Class 1 Offshore Championship.

The goal of H.H. Dr. Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Al Nahyan, ADIMSC chairman, is the participation of Abu Dhabi in the International Sports Events.

In November 2009 Abu Dhabi hosted its inaugural Class 1 Grand Prix and there has been intense speculation that the Emirate might consider further involvement in the Championship after H.H Dr. Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifah Al Nahyan hinted the possibility of entering a team.

ADIMSC and the International Offshore Team Association (IOTA), have brokered an agreement that will see Team Abu Dhabi running GiorgiOffshore’s Victory-built, Michael Peters-designed, Lamborghini/Alloni(Scam) V12-powered raceboat. It will compete under the flag of the United Arab Emirates Capital, Abu Dhabi, in Rio De Janeiro, on March 26-28.

“I’m extremely happy to have jointly cooperated with ADIMSC to meet the wish of H.H. Dr. Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Al Nahyan in so short a time after his announcement last November.” said IOTA chairman, Gianfranco Venturelli.

Recommended videos for you

Emirati, Rashid Al Tayer, an experienced member of F1 Team Abu Dhabi, who has enjoyed multiple podium success, will make his Class 1 debut as driver.

Italian, Nicola Giorgi, a veteran of 71 Class 1 Grands Prix who has enjoyed multiple podium success over the last two years, is confirmed as throttleman.


Latest videos