Class I series to open new season in Brazil

Championship moves across the Atlanic for the first time


Class 1 Offshore



Rio de Janeiro is the setting for the first Grand Prix of the 2010 UIM-WPPA Class 1 World Powerboat Championship, with the International Offshore Team Association (IOTA) confirming a seven-venue, 14-race calendar.

Recommended videos for you

IOTA General Secretary, Marco Sala, has confirmed the Brazilian Grand Prix will take place at Marina da Gloria, Guanabara Bay, one of the most prestigious resorts in Rio de Janeiro, on 26-28 March, and that Uddevalla in Sweden will be the second new venue of the title series.

“The continued and growing interest from countries and marketing partners who want to become involved in the World’s premiere Powerboat Championship demonstrates its commercial value for investment, a strong marketing platform and comprehensive worldwide media exposure.”

IOTA has also confirmed that five of last season’s venues, Arendal-Norway, Constanta-Romania, Stresa-Italy and the U.A.E. Emirates of Abu Dhabi and Dubai will continue to host championship rounds and hopes to confirm a further new venue, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, in the coming weeks.