With eight coastguard centres now set to close, do you back the government's latest proposals?

As expected, the government has announced changes to its proposals to modernise the coastguard following a damning report from the Transport Select Committee.

Under the amended proposals, eight coastguard stations are now earmarked for closure with each of the remaining 10 centres to operate a 24-hour service.

Stations that still face closure are: Swansea, Brixham, Clyde, Forth, Portland, Liverpool, Yarmouth and the Thames.

Read the full proposals and vote in our poll and leave a comment.