Stopbox Lighting and Claygate Bathrooms come out top

Claygate Bathrooms and Stopbox Lighting win the 2006 Honda Formula 4-Stroke Series

Claygate Bathrooms and Stopbox Lighting were declared winners of the 2006 Honda Formula 4-Stroke Series after nail biting rounds on Liverpool’s River Mersey.

Claygate Bathrooms, winners of the 2006 150hp championship, led their entire final race to win the class in true style whilst Stopbox Lighting, winners of the 225hp class, came home second in their final round but went on to secure the championship crown thanks to an impressive number of points accumulated throughout the ten-race series.

Winner’s of last year’s 150hp Class, Claygate’s Nick Clemson and Paul Trow-Smith successfully defended their title despite a poor start in opening round in the Isle of Man in June. Proving that consistency pays off, they picked up the pace in the second round before going on to secure an impressive number of finishes throughout the season, filling a place on the podium a staggering eight times – more than any other team in the series.

“We had a healthy lead before entering the finals which put on the pressure because you always wonder what could go wrong” commented Trow-Smith, navigator of Claygate. “It turned out to be the best race of the season with the crowd cheering all the way down the river; I’ll remember the feeling for a long time to come.”

Driver, Clemson, added: “We had a fantastic race, I absolutely loved it. A great way to finish the season and we’re over the moon to win the title for the second time, it’s an absolutely brilliant feeling. “

Recommended videos for you

225hp championship winners, Stopbox Lighting, also demonstrated some impressive consistency that saw them achieve four podium firsts throughout the series – more than any other team in the 2006 championship.

Jack Glendinning, driver of Stopbox Lighting commented: “It’s been a great season and today was a really fun race for us. We played it safe on Saturday to secure enough points for the title which meant there was no pressure on us in the final. We just went out there and enjoyed ourselves. The crowd and atmosphere was amazing, but nothing tops the feeling of knowing we’re championship winners – it’s absolutely brilliant.”

Last year’s 225hp champions, Shelly Jory and Libby Keir aboard Team Raymarine finally finished third in this year’s title fight.

The top three teams in each championship will win a stunning 1911 BTR Automatic Chronograph watch from luxury watchmaker Ebel’s new range.

Liverpool Grand Prix 2006 Race Results

Honda Formula 4-Stroke 150hp Series

Final Race Round Ten

1. Claygate Bathrooms Nick Clemson / Paul Trow-Smith

2. Lings Honda Dave Cowley / Chris Jary

3. Ebel 1911 BTR Graham Foster-Vigors / Naveed Hussain

4. Construction Racing Marcus Bradshaw / Joan Cummins

5. Secure Computing Dave Hobson / Kirsty Clarke

6. Radio City Nick Warren / Harry Armer

Honda Formula 4-Stroke 225hp Series

Final Race Round Ten

1. Evans Heritage Developments Rhys Evans / Hadyn Evans

2. Stopbox Lighting Jack Glendinning / Simon Bucknell

3. Team Raymarine Shelley Jory / Libby Keir

4. Heights of Abraham Rupert Pugh / Lee Darbyshire

5. Don’t Panic! Phil Haynes / Gareth Ebenezer

6. Cider Daze II Mark Cockman / Jack Cockman


Latest videos