Harmsworth Trophy to be major prize

Current high international status of Cowes-Torquay-Cowes qualifies event for major award

TweetThe British Powerboat Racing Club (BPRC) has announced that The British International Harmsworth Trophy will once again be the leading prize at this year’s British Powerboat Festival being held at Cowes from August 26-28.

Its winner will have to achieve the fastest average speed over both Cowes 100 & Cowes-Torquay-Cowes courses while competing for the UIM, BPRC Marathon World Cup.

The trophy was commissioned by Sir Alfred Harmsworth and first presented in 1903 and among its many winners is Fabio Buzzi who was awarded the trophy at Cowes in 2010.

Subscribe to the print version of MBY; subscribe to the digital version of MBY