Marine industry gathers for first MBM Awards

Marine industry top brass gathered for a prestigious dinner and presentation to mark the first MBM Awards.

Marine industry top brass gathered for a prestigious dinner and presentation to mark the first MBM Awards.

Around 120 representatives of boat and gear manufacturers and dealers from across the world, as well as British Marine Federation president James Grazebrook and Royal Yachting Association chief executive Rod Carr, enjoyed a giant-screen video presentation and meal at the Design Museum by the River Thames in London, during the London Boat Show.

Three nominations were announced for each of nine categories, encompassing the vast range of boats and engines tested by the magazine. Any boat or engine tested over the past 18 months was included in the process.

MBM’s Editor Hugo Andreae announced the winners, saying: “We judged each boat not just on its absolute merits, such as style, build quality and innovation, but also on its suitability for its intended purpose, its sales success and its value for money.”

Judged by MBM’s technical team, the winner of the Boat of the Year award was the Sealine F34, which was described as offering “the comfort and choice of a flybridge, but the performance and sheer fun of an outdrive sportscruiser”. Sealine managing director Patrik Von Sydow collected the award.

Recommended videos for you

The other categories were:

Best sports-cuddy: Monterey 218LSC. Nominated: Bella 620DC; Regal 2250LSC.

Best sportsfisher: Bénéteau Antares 650HB. Nominated: Jeanneau Merry Fisher 925; Karnic 2260 Weekender.

Best wheelhouse cruiser: Sea Saga 29HT. Nominated: Targa 27.1; Landau 29.

Best sports cruiser: Elan Power 35. Nominated: Sunseeker Portofino 35; Aquador 26DC.

Best river cruiser: Haines 320AC. Nominated: Sheerline 1020; Sheerline 1050AC.

Best flybridge cruiser: Sealine F34. Nominated: Nord West 390; Princess 42.

Best semi-displacement cruiser: Seaward Talisman 49 Nominated: Bénéteau Swift Trawler 42; Broom 39KL.

Best engine: Evinrude E-Tec 2-stroke. Nominated: Volvo Penta D3 inboard diesel; Suzuki V6 4-stroke.



Latest videos