Honda powerboat series awards bash

Including an award for best mishap!

London’s Savoy Hotel played host to the Honda Formula 4-Stroke 2006 awards dinner last Friday (12 January 2007).

Attended by competitors, sponsors and organisers from the series, the evening marked a celebration of the championship’s record-breaking 2006 season as well as whetting appetites for the forthcoming 2007 series which sees the UK premier off-shore powerboat championship enter its ninth year.

Guests enjoyed a lavish evening that included champagne reception, three course dinner and dancing as well as the main event of the night – the awards ceremony itself.

Presented by Martin Sanders, General Manager, Honda (UK), Power Equipment and Steve Curtis MBE, eight-times Class 1 World Powerboat Champion, prizes were given to first, second and third placed teams in both the 150hp and 225hp classes.

Winners’ prizes consisted of trophies and Ebel 1911 BTR watches donated by the series’ official timing sponsor and luxury watchmaker, Ebel.

Recommended videos for you

Additional awards included Rookies of the Year presented to best newcomers of the year, the Four Nations award presented for the most points gained after the first four rounds of the season, The Honda Institute Best Prepared Boat award, and finally the much cosseted Close Shave award that goes to the team who experienced the most spectacular mishap during the season’s racing.

Now an integral part of the Honda Formula 4-Stroke calendar, the much anticipated dinner takes place annually during the London Boat Show.

An occasion of celebration not only for the successful competitors but also for the series itself, 2007’s event witnessed more guests than ever before and pays tribute to the continued growth of the championship which featured record numbers of entries in 2006.

More than 360 guests attended the night and in addition to participating in the numerous entertainments and awards, helped raise money for children’s hospice, Helen and Douglas House, a charity providing respite and end of life care for children and young adults with life-shortening conditions.

For more information on the Honda Formula 4-Stroke Powerboat Series visit 

2006 Honda Formula 4-Stroke Award Winners
150hp First: Claygate Bathrooms Nick Clemson & Paul Trow-Smith
150hp Second: Construction Racing Marcus Bradshaw, Paul Heslop, Chris White, Ed Baverstock, Emma Brady, Matthew Dorril, Mick Chick, Harry Armer & Joan Cummins
150hp Third: Ebel 1911 BTR Graham Foster-Vigors, Mick Horsfall, Jason Yorke-Edgill, Owen Lloyd, Lorenza Cavalli, Naveed Hussain

225hp First: Stopbox Lighting Jack Glendinning & Simon Bucknall
225hp Second: Evans Heritage Developments Rhys Evans & Haydn Evans
225hp Third: Team Raymarine Shelly Jory & Libby Keir
Close Shave Heights of Abraham Rupert Pugh & Lee Darbyshire

Rookies of the Year: Quality Job Tom Plant & James Plant

The Honda Institute Best Prepared Boat: Secure Computing David Hobson & Kirsty Clarke

Four Nations: Stopbox Lighting Jack Glendinning & Simon Bucknall


Latest videos