Motor Boat of the Year Awards announced

Great motorboat design recognised

The winners of the Motor Boat of the Year Awards were announced on 12 January at a glitzy dinner in London’s Waldorf Hilton Hotel.

The prestigious awards, sponsored by Garmin and organised by Motor Boat & Yachting and Motor Boats Monthly, recognise the best in current motorboat design.

The technical teams at both magazines chose the winners from the boats they have tested for MBY and MBM.

MBY editor Hugo Andreae, MBM editor Carl Richardson, and Alan Harper, the editor of Custom Yachting, a bi-monthly supplement within MBY about boats over 20m, gave out the awards.

Publishing director Simon Owen said: “We’re proud that these awards have become one of the highlights of the boating calendar and despite the current climate, we’re determined that our industry should celebrate and acknowledge success.”

Among the boat categories there is also traditionally an award for best service, with the winner chosen by a public vote.

The winner this year was Bray Marine Sales, based on the River Thames.

2008 Round Britain Powerboat Race organiser Mike Lloyd was given the judge’s special award for his determination in bringing the epic race back to life last year.

RIBs and Sportsboats

Avon Adventure 580
Highly Commended: Chris Craft Catalina 23

Wheelhouse & Walkaround

Botnia Targa 44

Traditional & Retro

Mochi Dolphin 54

Steel & Inland

Seamark 780C

Trawler & Aft cabin

Beneteau Swift Trawler 52
Highly Commended: Elling E4

Sportscruiser below 45ft

Aquador 28HT
Highly Commended: Atlantis 35 Plus

Sportscruisers above 45ft

Princess V45
Highly Commended: Sealine SC47

Flybridge below 50ft

Princess 50
Highly Commended: Storebro 435 Commander

Flybridge above 50ft

Fairline Squadron 55
Highly Commended: Azimut 58

Custom Yacht

Moonen 94 Alu

Readers’ Outstanding Service Award

Bray Marine Sales

Judges’ Special Award

Mike Lloyd 


Latest videos